Sigil on Fedora 14

The article was moved to https://www.bernardi.cloud/2011/01/25/sigil-on-fedora-14/

See you on my new website! 😎

About Paolo Bernardi

Registered software engineer with over 10 years' experience in software system design, cybersecurity and privacy expert, free and open‑source software enthusiast. Certified C2‑level English language user. I live in Acquasparta, an Umbrian town famous for being the seat of the first "Accademia dei Lincei" (Academy of the Lynx‑eyed), together with my beloved wife.
This entry was posted in ebook, linux and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Sigil on Fedora 14

  1. Mihai Limbasan says:

    Hi there. FYI, just managed to build Sigil 0.3.4 (latest stable) against the Fedora 15 package set, starting from the Mandriva specfile and patchset, adding the bundled Xerces-C library back in (Fedora ships 3.0 and Sigil requires 3.1), and adding a small patch to allow GCC 4.6 to build it.

    You can grab the source RPM at http://rpms.limbasan.ro/fedora/15/SRPMS/sigil-0.3.4-2.src.rpm.

    It *should* also build on F14, but I haven’t tested it. To build it, install the following packages first: rpmdevtools, cmake, qt-devel (you need 4.7.0 or higher), boost-devel, zlib-devel, and bzip2-devel. Then switch to another account (I usually create a separate account for building local packages, just in case), run rpmdev-setuptree, install the source RPM via rpm -Uvh /path/to/your/copy/of/sigil-0.3.4-2.src.rpm, cd to rpmbuild/SPECS, and issue: rpmbuild -ba sigil.spec

    I’m also providing 32-bit binaries, but since my repository is unsigned I highly recommend you don’t use them – I wouldn’t trust binaries provided by some random guy… 🙂 Also, they probably won’t work on F14 due to the different soname of the GCC 4.6 C++ runtime library.

    Hope this was useful to you!

    Mihai

  2. John Deighan says:

    That advice worked like a champ for me. I did the “maximally paranoid thing” and just moved the “bad” libraries to a directory outside the Sigil tree, but after I did that it ran like gangbusters.

    THANK YOU

  3. Hi, everyone. Since I’m still getting many downloads coming from this page, I thought I’d update.

    My GCC 4.6 patches got accepted upstream, Mandriva’s format-string patch as well, so now the only thing you need to build on Fedora against the system libraries is sigil-0.3.4-use-fedora-syslibs.patch . It still works just fine against the latest Sigil version, 0.4.2.

    The current SRPM is http://rpms.limbasan.ro/fedora/15/SRPMS/sigil-0.4.2-1.src.rpm . I will keep it updated, of course.

    Also, if you happen not to find a .rpm there – try going up in the directory tree, to, say, http://rpms.limbasan.ro/fedora/15/SRPMS/ , or even directly to http://rpms.limbasan.ro/fedora/ (just in case I ever remove the F15 repo once F20 or so comes out 🙂 ).

  4. brserek says:

    Hi
    I’m trying to build a Sigil for Fedora 16 i686 from sigil-0.4.2-1.src.rpm. It fails compalining for qt-4.7.0 (I have qt-4.8.0). I don’t know what to do?

  5. Hi, brserek. I haven’t found the time to play with F16 yet, so for the moment I can’t help you directly. Can you perhaps post the error messages you’re getting – specifically, the last 40 or so lines from the failing rpmbuild?

  6. noko says:

    Thanks for this, I had the same problem in Debian Testing, removing the local qt libs worked like a charm.

  7. Bala K says:

    Running the 0.5.3 x86 install bin on Fedora 15 – just hangs!!!

    Nothing happening here. Any advice appreciated.

  8. kesigomu says:

    Mihai! Thanks for Sigil x86_64! Running the 0.5.3-1 on Fedora 16.

  9. mihailim says:

    Welcome 🙂
    Two things to note:
    1. I’m running F16 x86_64, so won’t be updating the F15 repos anymore.
    2. Hans de Goede is spearheading the effort to include Sigil in F17 – you can track the progress on Fedora bug 772362 here: https://bugzilla.redhat.com/show_bug.cgi?id=772362 . Once it’s done I’ll switch to using the distribution-maintained packages, of course.

  10. Luca says:

    Hi,

    nice repository, both for Sigil and Calibre, but I can’t use it (downloaded and added limbasan.repo to /etc/yum.repo.d).

    Is it possible to have also i386 architecture, along with X86_64?

    Thanks!

    • Hi, Luca!

      Sorry, I stopped using 32-bit OSes beginning with Fedora 15 and unfortunately I don’t have the time required to run VMs for building on them…

    • Oops, sorry for the mangled name abovce. My bad.

    • Another thought occurs: I’m not providing 32-bit binaries, but I *am* providing the source RPMs used to generate the 64-bit binaries. You can simply try building the 32-bit binaries you need – read the first comment above, I explained how to do it there. If you’re missing some devel packages, rpmbuild will complain and tell you what you need to install. Voila, problem solved 🙂

  11. Luca says:

    Mihai, yes, done this way 🙂
    Thanks!

Leave a comment